Passive Aggression: The Musical

photo-1Not gonna lie: I’m a fairly passive aggressive person.  I know, I know, passive aggression is extremely irritating; I can’t stand when people point it in my direction.

Still, I come from a family of stoic, non-confrontational types.  But we’re also opinionated non-confrontational types, so passive aggression is our tool when dealing with conflict.

Of course, passive aggression and a relationship/marriage/living with a roommate/whatever don’t usually mix too well (as you can read about here and here).  I will usually internalize issues I have, thinking they’re individually not worth putting up a fight over, until I’m so overwhelmed with pet peeves that I end up exploding over something like having peas instead of broccoli as a side for dinner.

It’s the turn of the seasons, though, and with that, comes a renewed outlook on my approach to life.  And since I don’t like directly addressing problems or concerns that I have in a normal, healthy manner, I’ve resorted to singing my issues instead.

Take this one, for example, from this past weekend:

Oh Ripley,

Why isn’t Daddy #1

Making the beeeeeed?

I make it all week looooong

And take you on all your walks

He can at least make it

Once and a whiiiiiile….!

(So, not only am I singing–and not making much of an effort at rhyming–but I’m singing to the dog instead of my husband.)

This is me breaking out of my non-confrontational shell.  At least I’m verbalizing my issues now!

…In verse…

…and off-key…

…hrm…

…This might cause more problems than it solves.

2 thoughts on “Passive Aggression: The Musical

  1. ha! It seems the nature of relationships. One of my infamous passive aggressive jabs at my partner is about him leaving cupboard doors open every time he opens them. I have this bad habit of making overly loud remarks to the dog about how she keeps leaving cupboards open and that someone is going to lose an eye. The eyes lost are my partners as he rolls them at me and walks away.

Leave a Reply

