25X: D-I-Y-X-Mas

Procrastinate, as I am wont to do. (That sounds vaguely like something Yoda would say.)

Last night, I finally went shopping for crafting supplies in order to put together the First Annual Lance+Jeff Super-One-Of-A-Kind Christmas Cards!!

I’m not warm and fuzzy with crafting–like baking, quality crafts require a level of precision and patience that I just don’t have. Β Still, it was important to me to send out something that was handmade and unique. Β So, I hunkered down and started piecing them together, a jumble of construction paper, glue and paint.

photo-3

It’s not like I love Christmas cards. Β I like the tradition, but the gesture is lost on our generation, who would prefer to send out snarky Someecards instead of a card they spend some time picking out. Β I’ve never gotten really into Christmas cards because their exchange is so inconsistent–people who sent you a card last year will forget for three nonconsecutive years, or your bestest pals from high school don’t even make that small, annual gesture at keeping in touch. Β Vinyl’s coming back–why not Christmas cards?

photo-2

I want to love Christmas cards. Β And while I was nursing a Wawa fountain soda into the wee hours of the morning last night, my supplies strewn across Β our coffee table and National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation playing on loop in the background, I felt that little pinch of cheer, the Christmas spirit finally starting to gestate (what a NASTY word, like “moist” or “nubbin”) inside me.

Christmastime is here.

photo-4

3 thoughts on “25X: D-I-Y-X-Mas

  1. Pingback: Disney Reads of the Week: 12/21/2012

  2. Pingback: 25X: Christmas Stories « Lance + Jeff

  3. Currently it is appropriate time to make a few plans for the fuutre and it’s time to take a break. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to recommend you some attention-grabbing things or advice. Perhaps you can post subsequent material regarding this post. I wish to learn even more things of it!

Leave a Reply

